Investment Guide

Osijek-Baranja County

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Developed by

Basic information



The Republic of Croatia is situated in Southeast Europe, at the point where Central Europe meets the Mediterranean region, its territory is shaped like a horseshoe, comprising a land area of 56,594 km2 and the territorial sea area of 31,067 m2. Croatia has 2,028 km of continental borders, sharing these with five countries: 932 km with Bosnia and Herzegovina, 501 km with Slovenia, 329 km with Hungary, 241 km with Serbia and 25 km with Montenegro. At sea, Croatia borders with Italy, Slovenia and Montenegro.

The coast of the Adriatic Sea is one of the most indented ones in Europe, right after that of Norway. It consists of 1,185 islands and islets, only 48 of which, i.e. 6%, are inhabited, and it extends to a total length of 4,058 km. Due to this, Croatia is often called “a land with a thousand islands”. Next to Spain, it has more sunshine hours than any other country in Europe.

The capital of the Republic of Croatia is Zagreb, its administrative, cultural and academic centre, with a population of 779,145, according to the 2001 Census. The largest sea ports are the cities of Rijeka, Split, Ploče, Šibenik and Zadar. The largest international airport is that of Zagreb, while others are located in Rijeka, Pula, Zadar, Split, Dubrovnik and Osijek.

According to the 2001 data, Croatia has a population of 4,437,460, and its average population density is 78.4 p/km2.

The currency of Croatia is kuna (abbrev. HRK, international HRK), fractioned into 100 lipa (lp). The official language is Croatian, spoken by 96.12% of the population.

Source: Statistical Yearbook of the Rep. of Croatia 2009, Central Bureau of Statistics, Statistical Information 2009.